THE JUMP 1 From Screenwriter/Ringo Award-Winner Rylend Grant

Created by Rylend Grant

A kick-you-in-the-teeth paranoid thriller set in the world of astral projection from the creator of Action Lab's ABERRANT and BANJAX.

Latest Updates from Our Project:

New Kickstarter Project Launching October 19th! THE PEACEKEEPERS!
12 months ago – Thu, Oct 01, 2020 at 08:29:22 PM

Hey all,

  I'm so wildly excited to introduce you to our next Kickstarter project, launching October 19th! THE PEACEKEEPERS is a dark, quirky crime drama in the vein of Fargo or No Country for Old Men. It’s a love letter to case-a-season police dramas like True Detective and The Wire, to Elmore Leonard novels, and to comic masterpieces like Criminal and 100 Bullets.

THE PEACEKEEPERS comes to you from the same twisted team that brought you 10 rip-roaring issues of Action Lab: Danger Zone's much-lauded political action thriller ABERRANT.  Aberrant made over a dozen critics ten-best lists. It won a Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Award (for BEST VILLAIN) in 2019 and was nominated for two others (BEST WRITER & BEST SINGLE ISSUE).

THE PEACEKEEPERS is a story that I've wanted to tell for 15+ years, something I've always wanted to see done in the comics arena. I'm so thankful to be able to finally bring it to you here and I know you're going to love it.

We just set up our pre-launch page. Click HERE or on the image below to follow along/sign up for launch notifications... AND WE'LL SEE YOU ON THE 19TH!

I look forward to taking this journey with you all once again. It was TONS of fun the first go 'round. As always, if you have any questions or concerns, feel free to hit me up.


I hope all is well. Stay safe out there!

Rylend

UBER Limited Banjax Variant Available! Love from Billy Dee Williams! And Fabio's new book!
12 months ago – Tue, Sep 29, 2020 at 11:10:31 PM

Hey Jumpers,

  I hope this mini apocalypse is treating you well. The crew here at Half Evil Comics is up to all sorts of good and crazy right now and I wanted to put a couple of interesting bits in front of you...


NEW BANJAX VARIANT/LOVE FROM BILLY DEE WILLIAMS

In case you missed it, the entire JUMP team was nominated for a fist full of prestigious Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards this year for our work on the Action Lab: Danger Zone comic book series  BANJAX.

 
It's a HUGE honor and we are utterly delighted... well, we were even more tickled when our friends the top notch comic book site PopCultHQ tapped non other than the legendary BILLY DEE WILLIAMS to send us this congrats (click on the image to play):

 
Billy Dee actually utters the words "BANJAX works every time!" I'm still trying to pick myself up off the floor.

Well, to keep the party going, PopCultHQ has just released an UBER limited "Demon in a Bottle Homage"/Ringo Awards variant of BANJAX #1, featuring work from the entire JUMP team (Fabio, Edson, HdE):

The cost is $15. Only 250 will be printed. Get them while you can by clicking HERE.


FABIO'S NEW BOOK

In other news, Fabio recently took over penciling duties on my absolute favorite comic book, Steven Prince's MONSTER MATADOR. They just launched a Kickstarter campaign to fund the 2nd issue of their new series...

Set in a near future where monsters appeared suddenly and without warning, bringing death and destruction. Ramon Alejandro Estévez-Guerrero roams the earth fighting these monsters in memory of his late wife and to make a better world for his daughter – he is the MONSTER MATADOR! 

It's Matadors fighting Kaiju Monsters. It's TONS of fun. There are plenty of ways to catch up on what you missed. CHECK THIS OUT! You won't regret it!


Hope all is well out there! Talk soon!

Rylend

The packages have arrived! Social media fun!
about 1 year ago – Mon, Sep 14, 2020 at 05:31:18 PM

Hey Jumpers,

  The lion's share of packages have been delivered and the unboxing photos started hitting social media last week...

Some set the bar EXTREMELY high. Like this pro wrestler...

Or this extremely BAD ASS baby...

A reminder that I'll be giving something VERY cool away to one lucky backer who posts her/his haul on social media. Just make sure to tag me in it (@rylendgrant). Crazier the better with these photos. I might just pick a social media all star team (prime candidates above) and send them all something cool.

SOME QUICK CAMPAIGN NOTES

1. Some folks are still asking where they can pick up extra issues and the like. Well, most everything from the campaign - and plenty of ABERRANT/BANJAX stuff - is still available (in limited quantities) via our Backerkit preorder store: https://thejump.backerkit.com/hosted_preorders

Let me know if there's something missing and I'll figure out a way to get it to you.

2. There are still a handful of you who have yet to fill out surveys. I've emailed you all directly, but I'm not hearing back. I can't send out your book until I have an address, so if hit me up one way or another if you have yet to receive a shipping notification.

3. The 2nd wave of packages (just a handful) was delayed slightly going out last week because of this crazy wildfire stuff happening in California. We're a stone's throw away from the Bobcat fire. The air quality is piss poor and it wasn't safe to go out late last week. But those packages are out now and headed your way.

SOME LOVE FOR FRIENDS

I have some very dear friends running some truly spectacular campaigns right now and I wanted to put them in front of you here.

THE O.Z.

I've pimped this one before, but I wanted to hit it again here because I think it's in it's final 48 hours and it's truly one of the best books to hit Kickstarter in a long while.

What if The Hurt Locker took place in The Wizard of Oz? Find out in The O.Z., a thrilling new comic series from Ringo Award-nominated writer David Pepose (Spencer & Locke, Going to the Chapel) and red-hot new artist Ruben Rojas that transforms a childhood classic into a war story for the ages. Debuting on Kickstarter with a 44-page first chapter, this campaign is dedicated to bringing this action-packed twist on L. Frank Baum’s iconic Oz novels to life. Fans of Mad Max, The Old Guard, and Fables will not want to miss out on The O.Z.

ICHABOD JONES - Volumes 1 & 2

Russell Nohelty is a Kickstarter legend and his book, Ichabod Jones: Monster Hunter, is a Kickstarter classic. I've backed his campaigns for years. Everything he releases on this platform is on a whole other level quality-wise, so I was so wildly excited to see him releasing a second volume of ICHABOD here.

Do you love crazy stories filled with monsters, magic, gore, and humor?

Have you ever read about H.P. Lovecraft's Dreamlands and thought..."I wish this was funnier and gorier"?

Are you excited by stories that keep you on your toes and make you question the very fabric of reality?

Then you are going to love Ichabod Jones Monster Hunter.

Ichabod comes from a deep, almost primordial, place in Russell's soul. It's the part that devours movies like In the Mouth of Madness, Event Horizon, and Jacob's Ladder, while still binging on Gravity Falls, Frankenweenie, and Army of Darkness. It's the part that read Johnny the Homicidal Maniac and laughed hysterically at every gruesome scene.

This  campaign is PACKED with amazing extras... books from a TON of other great creators. You may not get a better bang for your comics buck than this campaign.

Rafael Garcia: Henchman #1

My good friend David Schrader - creator of BABY BADASS - has paired with TV legend Peter Murrieta (Mr. Iglasias, Wizards of Waverly Place) and Starburns Industries to bring you this workplace Action-Comedy about an easy going Henchman attempting to take  control of his life and survive corporate super villainy.

What if life in a super-villain organization was less like a James Bond movie and more like working at Walmart Corporate?

Rafael Garcia: Henchman brings the old familiar tropes of a dark workplace comedy by way of a brand-new cinematic superhero universe. It mixes the daily grind of The Office with the slacker absurdity of Stripes -- if the General in charge was more like Lex Luthor.

The series is brought to you by lifelong readers of comics with a  deep love for the world of superheroes. A love that planted the seed for  questions like “Who provides the janitorial services at JLA  Headquarters? And do they have a benefits package?”

I was in on this from day 1. You should pick it up too.

Stay safe out there, guys!

Rylend

GIVEAWAY: Let's see those books!
about 1 year ago – Mon, Sep 07, 2020 at 02:14:05 PM

Hey Jumpers,

  I'm here in Los Angeles, enjoying the brisk weather...

Goddamn it...

Hopefully, things are a bit cooler where you are. I know you all just received your tracking info... but that was because I forgot to click the SEND TRACKING INFO button on Backerkit last week (I = bonehead) when I sent everything. It actually looks like a good portion of these books have already landed in mailboxes. Anyway, it would be really great to see them! And I thought I'd have a little fun with it...

Post a picture of yourself holding your freshly-received book on social media with the hashtag #THEJUMP and you'll be entered in a drawing to win something REALLY COOL and JUMP-related. Big ups, too, if you can tag me in it (@rylendgrant).

Backer #117/Another Satisfied Customer

SOME OTHER STUFF:

-If you're looking for your print, it's in the bag with your comic/behind your comic. If you ordered more than one comic, it's in the bag with the "regular" version of the cover.

Hope all is well. 

Stay safe out there.

Rylend


The books have shipped! Digital rewards have been delivered!
about 1 year ago – Thu, Sep 03, 2020 at 07:15:01 PM

Hey Jumpers,

  I'm excited to let you know that, with a few minor exceptions, all psychical rewards have shipped! There are a handful of very complex orders that I'm still wrestling with, but those will be out by the end of the week. So, watch your mailbox.

That said, a word of warning... I've been hearing from other creators here on Kickstarter that they're experiencing a lot of USPS delays as a result of COVID and all this ugly political hatchetry, particularly with International shipments. So, US backers should give things a few more days than usual... but it might end up being a few more weeks for you folks abroad. If I could snap my fingers and get these books in your hands, I absolutely would, but these are obviously crazy times. I guess I'm just asking for your patience and understanding.

Remaining digital rewards have also been delivered. That means the PDF of THE JUMP #1, the script, the publisher pitch document, and the artists process materials have landed. You should have already received an email from Backerkit giving you access/telling you how to download everything. 

If you have any problems with your order, whatsoever, I'm here for you. Please don't hesitate to reach out.

Thanks so very much again for helping me bring this book to life. I look forward to showing you Issue 2 of THE JUMP early next year. I'll be returning to Kickstarter in late September/early October though with some new, different, and exciting. WATCH THIS SPACE!

Stay safe out there! Talk soon!

Rylend